Angola signs PSCs for eight onshore blocks

Angola awards 9 blocks in onshore bid round

LUANDA, September 27, 2021 – Angola’s petroleum concessionaire has awarded nine blocks in the country’s 2020 licensing round, covering the onshore Lower Congo and Kwanza basins.

The National Oil, Gas and Biofuels Agency (ANPG) announced the awards on Friday, revealing that Canada’s MTI energy had secured four blocks as operator – CON5, KON5, KON17 and KON20 – and Angolan player Somoil* has secured operatorship of CON1 along with participation in CON6.

*(Somoil was renamed Etu Energias in 2023)

The Kwanza onshore block KON6 will be operated by Grupo Simples, which also took stakes in the basin’s KON5, KON8 and KON9.


Alfort Petroleum will operate KON8, while AIS Angola will operate KON9.

Read our latest interview with Alfort Petroleum’s general manager, Camilo Gomes.

The operatorships awarded are as follows:

CON1 – Somoil
CON5 – MTI Energy
CON6 – Mineral One
KON5 – MTI Energy
KON6 – Grupo Simples
KON8 – Alfort Petroleum
KON9 – Angola Integrated Services
KON17 – MTI Energy
KON20 – MTI Energy

The full list of awardees and stakes can be found here.

Read our latest insights on: